Jorvik Viking Festival

Explore the Jorvik Group


In this section

Before their conversion to Christianity, the Vikings believed the universe was comprised of nine worlds supported in the branches of the great world tree, Yggdrasil:

Midgard: the world of humanity

Asgard: the world of the Aesir, a tribe of deities led by Odin who control the forces of nature, also the home of the victorious dead, Valhalla.

Vanaheim: the world of the Vanir, another tribe of gods and goddesses

Jotunheim: the world of the giants

Niflheim: the primordial world of ice

Muspelheim: the primordial world of fire

Alfheim: the world of the elves

Svartalfheim: the world of the dwarves

Hel: the world of the eponymous goddess Hel and the Halls of the Dead.